Injured at Work - Employee Assistance

If you have been injured at work, you must do the following:

  1. Inform your supervisor immediately.
  2. Complete the First Report of Injury with your supervisor.
  3. First Report of Injury (FROI)

Supervisors who need assistance completing the FROI should contact their HR department or safety officer. In addition supervisors can watch the FROI Instructional Video.

The FROI is the injured at work claim form that is required to be completed when making a claim for an on the job injury in accordance with Workers Compensation Statute. ;In Montana state government an employee has 30 days to inform their employer of an injury at work. It is in an employees best interest to file the claim as soon as possible. The employer has 6 days to report the injury to the state insurance provider.

Your HR Department or Safety Officer will submit your FROI electronically, by mail or fax to the state workers compensation insurer:

Montana State Fund,
P.O. Box 4759,
Helena, MT 59604-4759,
Telephone. (406) 495-5000
Fax (406) 495-5020

If you would like to understand more about filing an injury claim, the claims process and what to do if you have a complaint:

For worker's compensation questions contact:

Worker's Compensation Program, Bureau Chief - Lance Zanto, (406) 444-5689
State Safety Program Manager - Lisa Brooks, (406) 444-0122
TTY (406) 444-1421