Workers Compensation Management Bureau

Injured At Work

In Montana, an employee has 30 days to inform their employer of an injury at work. It is in an employees’ best interest to file the claim as soon as possible.

The employer has 6 days to report the injury to their insurance provider.

Montana Workers’ Compensation Statute

 

Employee Assistance

If you have been injured at work, you must do the following:

  1. Inform your supervisor immediately.
  2. Contact your Human Resources Department and complete the First Report of Injury (Claim) Form as soon as possible. No later than within 24 hours of the injury.
  3. First Report of Injury (FROI) Form

Your HR Department or Safety Officer will submit your FROI electronically by mail or fax to the state government’s workers’ compensation insurer:

Montana State Fund
P.O. Box 4759
Helena, MT 59604-4759
Telephone: (406) 495-5000
Fax: (406) 495-5020

 

Supervisor Assistance

The First Report of Injury Form (FROI) is the injured at work claim form that is required to be completed when making a claim for an on the job injury.

Here is an instruction video to help you in filling out the FROI - FROI Instructional Video

If you need assistance completing the FROI, contact your HR department or safety officer.

If you have been notified of an employee injury:

  1. Ensure appropriate first aid or emergency care is provided to your employee.
  2. As soon as possible (no later than 24 hours of the injury notification), contact your agency Human Resources Department or Safety Officer and complete the First Report of Injury (Claim) Form.  

 

If you would like to understand more about filing an injury claim, the claims process, and what to do if you have a complaint:

 

For Workers' Compensation questions, visit our contact us page. 

Hi, I can help answer your questions!