Workers Compensation Management Bureau

A Resource for State of Montana Employees

Injured At Work


In Montana, an employee has 30 days to notify their employer of a work-related injury. Please note it is in an employees’ best interest to notify the employer and file the claim as soon as possible.

Once the employer has been notified of the injury, the department has six days to report the injury to their insurance provider.

Montana Workers’ Compensation Statute


Employee Responsibilities

If you have sustained a work-related injury, you must complete the following:

  1. Inform your supervisor immediately.
  2. Contact your Human Resources Department or safety officer to complete the First Report of Injury (Claim) Form as soon as possible. No later than within 24 hours of the injury.
  3. Complete department specific reporting and documentation procedures.


Employer Responsibilities

Upon notification of a work-related injury:

  1. Ensure appropriate first aid or emergency care is provided to your employee.
  2. Complete the First Report of Injury (FROI) online submission form through Montana State Fund.


Additional Resources 

If you would like to understand more about filing an injury claim


To report suspicious activity or fraud visit the Montana State Fund Fraud Reporting site.  

Hi, I can help answer your questions!